Beach Reads from the Book Loft

These fun beach read suggestions are from my favorite bookstore on Amelia Island, The Book Loft, located on Centre Street downtown.   Please remember to buy local when possible so that communities can enjoy little shops like The Book Loft for years to come.

  1.  Yesterday’s Reflections – Yesterday’s Reflections II (YRII) is a collection of dozens of Nassau County, FL community histories in word, photograph, and map images.
  2. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.k. Rowling- Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage.  It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.
  3. When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi-For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?
  4. Me Before You by JoJo Moyes- Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick. What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.
  5. The Boy on the Wooden Box by Leon Leyson- Even in the darkest of times—especially in the darkest of times—there is room for strength and bravery. A remarkable memoir from Leon Leyson, one of the youngest children to survive the Holocaust on Oskar Schindler’s list.
  6. Hamilton By Lin Manuel Miranda-Miranda’s groundbreaking musical Hamilton is as revolutionary as its subject, the poor kid from the Caribbean who fought the British, defended the Constitution, and helped to found the United States. Fusing hip-hop, pop, R&B, and the best traditions of theater, this once-in-a-generation show broadens the sound of Broadway, reveals the storytelling power of rap, and claims our country’s origins for a diverse new generation.
  7. The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom- The inventor of the world’s first clock is punished for trying to measure God’s greatest gift. He is banished to a cave for centuries and forced to listen to the voices of all who come after him seeking more days, more years. Eventually, with his soul nearly broken, Father Time is granted his freedom, along with a magical hourglass and a mission: a chance to redeem himself by teaching two earthly people the true meaning of time.
*Summaries are from book websites and Google reads.  The list is compiled by employees of The Book Loft.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *